“I enjoy the luncheons because they focus on positive things. This gives me a chance to see the movers and shakers from other parts of the county. The lunches remind us of the accomplishments Yolo County women have been making over time.”

John Ohlson
West Sacramento

"We really enjoyed the stage program when some local women dressed up as historic Yolo County women. I remember Margy Yutzy as Margaret McDowell. I think having a connection to the historic women from all parts of the county is important."
Sharon Freitas
formerly of West Sacramento


Nonprofit Status

Yolo County Women’s History Month Committee is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt California non-profit corporation. Contributions to YCWHM qualify as tax-deductible for donors.

t cantil-sakauye 640x800


29th Annual Luncheon

The 29th anniversary Yolo County Women's History Month luncheon is to be held Thursday, March 10, 2016, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., at the Woodland Community & Senior Center, 2001 East Street, Woodland. Each year, March is designated nationally as Women's History Month. This year's Yolo County Women's History Month luncheon will recognize the 2016 national theme, 'Working to Form a More Perfect Union: Honoring Women in Public Service and Government.' Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye, Chief Justice of California, is the guest speaker. Seating space is limited. Reservations are $25 per person, must be received by Friday, March 4, 2016, and will not be sold at the door. The buffet luncheon will be catered by Anderson Family Catering & BBQ. Click here for the luncheon invitation. For reservations, click here.

2016 Guest Speaker

The Yolo County Women's History Month Committee is pleased to annouce Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye, Chief Justice of California, as the guest speaker for the 29th annual Women's History Month luncheon.

Chief Justice Tani Gorre Cantil-Sakauye is the 28th Chief Justice of the California Supreme Court, sworn into office on January 3, 2011, and the first Asian-Filipina American and the second woman to serve as the state's chief justice. A Sacramento native, Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye attended C.K. McClatchy High School and Sacramento City College before graduating with honors from the University of California, Davis, going on to receive her Juris Doctor degree from the UC Davis, Martin Luther King, Jr., School of Law.

Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye previously worked as a deputy district attorney for the Sacramento County District Attorney's Office, and then served on the senior staff of Governor George Deukmejian, first as deputy legal affairs secretary and later as a deputy legislative secretary. The recipient of numerous awards and honors throughout her career, the Chief Justice is also a former board member of several nonprofit organizations and has been active in numerous professional community organizations, including membership in the California Judges Association, the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association, and the Sacramento Asian Bar Association. She is married to Mark Sakauye, a retired police lieutenant, and they have two daughters.

Contact Us

Board of Directors:
President:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Treasurer:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Secretary: Shipley Walters
Amanda Mason
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. y (Media Contact)
Catherine Portman
Committee Members:
Amy Moore
Louisa R. Vessell (Media Contact)

Copyright © 2010-2016 Yolo County Women's History Month Committee. All Rights Reserved.
Site Designed & Powered By Teal Networks